Trying to fit in

Hi everyone,

I have recently presented a new family of very fashionable looking characters to accompany Tiger on his adventures. Of course, now that I know what the characters look like, I have since had the job of inserting them into ready built scenes and situations.

Here are some layout tracings, where I had to draw the characters’ and their positions upon the scene at hand:

fit in 2
Copyright (c) 2014 Rachel Denison
fit in 3
Copyright (c) 2014 Rachel Denison
fit in 4
Copyright (c) 2014 Rachel Denison

Once I was able to get the positioning of each character right, I then had to draw them up properly and hope that they fitted in smoothly with the rest of the scene. Here were the results:

As things are continuing to build and build, I now feel that the biggest thing missing is the accompanying scenery. Some pages work better plain or with a small image amongst a clean slate, but I am missing a large amount of scenery in general, and having come up with these results so far, and viewing them in their current state, I feel that the drawing up of scenery needs to be my next step.

I am currently pulling together some scenery ideas, and drawing them into ready made scenes in the same way as I did my characters.

Family and giraffe
Copyright (c) 2012 – 2015 Rachel Denison
Family and motorbike
Copyright (c) 2012 – 2015 Rachel Denison

Here are some sketches, along with ideas of graphic styles to incorporate into the surroundings…

City fit 1City fit 2City fit 3City street 2City street

graphic 1graphic 3graphic 4graphic 5

So there you have it.

I see this as being quite a major and perhaps a final step in the creation of full on storybook illustrations. Of course I shall look forward to presenting you with my updates as I go along, and we can debate certain things which look good, bad, better or worse.

For now, I shall love you and leave you with this blog entry, which has quite a lot of imagery!

Until next time, take care.

Rachel

Leave a Reply

